## Complete Streets Advisory Council Record of Meeting

Complete Streets Advisory Council
July 22, 2021
10:00-12:00
VIA Zoom and In-Person DOTD-HQ113D

#### **Council Members Present**

Alan Krouse Jamie Gaines\*
Lynn Maloney-Mujica Chris FaKouri
Jessica Stroope Louis Haywood
Mary Stringfellow\* Tara Tolford
Cheri Soileau Jessica Kemp
Tom Douthat (sitting in for Mark Martin) Tom Futrell\*

#### **Others Present**

Dan Jatres / City of New Orleans Chad Winchester / LADOTD Laura Phillips / FHWA Laura Riggs / LADOTD Rebecca Bian / LTRC Adriane MacRae\* Josh Harrouch\*

## Call to Order

Alan Krouse called the meeting to order, and it was determined that a quorum was present.

## **Approve Previous Minutes**

A motion was made by Lynn Maloney, seconded by Louis Haywood to approve March 19, 2021, minutes as presented. On vote the motion unanimously passes.

## **Membership Business**

- Formal Acceptance of Cheri Soileau's Application. Motion to accept by Jessica Stroope, seconded by Tara Tolford. Vote unanimous.
- Recognition of Jamie Gaines Representing LPC/MPO. Motion to accept by Cheri Soileau, seconded by Tara Tolford. Vote unanimous.
- Confirmation of Jessica Kemp as CPEX Representative. Motion to accept by Lynn Maloney, seconded by Tara Tolford. Vote unanimous.

#### Bylaws Amendment re: University Rep as Core Member

A discussion of the bylaws regarding the designation of a representative from a university or research institute ended in a decision not to revise the bylaws. It was determined that the bylaws as written were sufficient to ensure that universities and research institutions are represented.

<sup>\*</sup> Joined by phone

#### Complete Streets Advisory Council Record of Meeting

## Initiation of CS EDSM and CS Design Guidelines Update - Chris FaKouri & Lynn Maloney

It was agreed that reconsideration of LADOTD CS EDSM and CS Design Guidelines was due. Given the fact that the last iteration was based on 2011 guidelines and that AASHTO was in the process of updating the Green Book to address bike and ped issues, it was agreed to create a sub-committee to consider updating the existing EDSM and CSDG. A sub-committee consisting of Council Members Chris FaKouri, Lynn Maloney, Jessica Stroope, Tara Tolford and Louis Haywood was formed along with Chad Winchester, Gary Leblanc, and Josh Harrouch from LADOTD Engineering and Traffic. The sub-committee would meet and report back at the next CSAC meeting.

## <u>Update on the DOTD Complete Streets Policy Evaluation - Tara Tolford & Rebecca Bian</u>

See Attachment 1

## <u>Demonstration of the Bike/Ped safety tool - Tara Tolford / Dan Jatres</u>

Link: <a href="https://www.saferstreetspriorityfinder.com/">https://www.saferstreetspriorityfinder.com/</a> and Attachment 2

## Other Business

None

# **Action Items**

CS Design Guidelines Sub-Committee to meet and report back to the CSAC at the next scheduled meeting

## Adjournment